I’m My Own General

In coming to Messiah College as a first-year student, I expected it to be focused internationally. I came to the school for the study abroad programs. I wanted a really strong international tie. It was my main focus. I obviously wanted to have fun & all that stuff. I didn’t feel a culture shock in coming to Messiah College.  I grew up in this area so I know the demographics in this area and this was to be expected. I don’t miss anything about home. I’m not a homebody.

When asked if people look at her differently because of the color of her skin or because of where she is from, Brooke replied “No”.

In describing her friend group, Brooke notes that it’s diverse. She said, “I think that goes into my initial idea of Messiah. I really love learning about different cultures and people from different cultures and I feel like my friend group reflects that”.

As a senior, looking back on her freshmen year seemed like so long ago. Brooke remembered that it was exciting meeting so many new people. The first few days of welcome week were filled with time getting to know everyone and a lot of fun! I’m a go-getter. I was excited to jump in and get started with everything that college was about.

As for Christianity at Messiah College, they have a lot of avenues that they give people to grow in their faith. It’s left up to the discretion of the individual and some people choose to ignore all the avenues completely.

This quote has been my guiding force: “I’m my own general”. I take things & I’m a go-getter. I go after things. I like that quote. As for Scripture: I like the overall emphasis of Jesus’ mission of social justice and caring for the poor. How he went to the outcast of society & ministered to them. That’s a strong message that I try to emanate today.

In 10 years, I will have my master’s degree. Hopefully I will be enrolled in a PhD program. I want to live abroad. I want to work abroad, hopefully in East Africa or Eastern Congo. I want to working on grassroots nonprofit level with the mindset of peaceful resolution and justice.

My favorite thing, oh snap! My favorite thing about Messiah…I don’t know if I can choose one. There are so many different things. When I came I wanted to get the most out of my education as possible. I really enjoy the education abroad. I like to focus on global engagement. I like to focus on social justice. I really do like the community aspect of it. How everyone is here and how there is this greater community of the college as a whole and then your little community of friends. It would be harder at a different university where people start living off campus and you see less of people. It would be harder to have that connection.

I didn’t get involved until last year in the Multicultural Programs. I didn’t feel like I could because I was Caucasian. I was wrong. Since becoming involved it’s been great. I’ve made so many more friends. I feel like I can have an avenue of being able to practice something that I am really passionate about and I really try to strive for in my own life.

Leave a comment